Canal St. Martin


While planning for my visit of 19th arrondissement on Google Maps, I saw one end of the Canal St. Martin closed to it.

So, I went crazy and thought, “I should walk along the WHOLE canal!”

How did I get rid of my cognitive dissonance? By arguing, “Oh, Paris is only 12 km wide.” Silly me. 12 km is still LONG.

So, I did walk along the canal. In the middle of the day. It’s not the best timing, especially with the sun shining into your eyes! If I ever take a promenade across the canal again, it will certainly be in a morning.

I had read that there are some shops and cafes along the canal. Cafes, yes I found them. Shops, not as much as I had expected! Maybe some of them are further inside the streets, slightly away from the canal.

I guess I had expected too much from the poor Canal St. Martin. I shall leave the Canal to itself now.

Published by

Olivia Griselda

A photographer & filmmaker based in Singapore.

Share Your Thoughts

