Day 80: Jackpot


This man was selling lottery tickets to me. While $3 million dollars jackpot sounded enticing, I didn’t buy a ticket in the end. However, it did remind me of how, in game shows, the host never failed to ask the participants, “If you win, what will you do with the (enter prize sum) dollars?”

If I do ever win a million dollars, I will use most of my money to fund my masters in filmmaking education (which has been postponed indefinitely). However, if you ask me this question ten years later, my priorities will certainly have changed. What will remain the same will be my belief that becoming rich overnight does not equal to having a happily ever after life. As the French says, your German cousins may turn up at your door!

Some people have started to think that being a millionaire is a passé (I’m looking at you, Bruno Mars). But, hey, these millionaires make up less than 1% of the world population. Most of us will be (extremely) happy with winning a million dollars.

What will you do if you win a million dollars? Leave your comment!

Published by

Olivia Griselda

A photographer & filmmaker based in Singapore.

Share Your Thoughts

