Day 88: Neighbor Who?


“Love thy neighbor!” I hear that almost every Sunday. The problem is I have no clue who my neighbors are. I bet if I tell this to a tribesman, he will laugh on my face. In the old (hunting) times, knowing your neighbors (a.k.a. your tribe members) could determine your survival. In these modern times, physical dangers are barely existent. Subsequently, getting to know your neighbors has become less significant.

I don’t have any roommates, so my definition of neighbors are people living on the same floor or building as me. I see one or two of them at the lift lobby from time to time. Sometimes, we say hello (sheepishly). Sometimes, we just avert our gazes and pretend we don’t see (or hear) each other. It’s unfortunate how a potentially friendly situation can turn awkward so fast these days.

How well do you know your neighbors?
—-

Chinatown, Singapore. 

Published by

Olivia Griselda

A photographer & filmmaker based in Singapore.

Share Your Thoughts

