Day 98: Sun in a Cloudy Day


The Indonesian capital of Jakarta is my hometown. However, the truth is that I have never done any street photography in the city. Jakarta is not really a walking town. One typically gets from one point to another on a car. Since my family visits shopping centers most often, most of my past photographs had been taken inside those shopping centers. While it barely has proper infrastructures (e.g. no public train within the city), Jakarta has more than enough shopping centers to keep the 8.5 million population happy.

Therefore, in my current visit to Jakarta (lasting 6 days), I’m resolute in taking more pictures of Jakarta streets. Today was the first try. To be honest, I felt rather self-conscious. The thought of what would the Indonesians make of a Chinese (that’s me) carrying an expensive-looking camera terrified me quite a bit. Letting go of this fear will be a work-in-progress for the next few days.

—-
Mayestik area in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Published by

Olivia Griselda

A photographer & filmmaker based in Singapore.

One thought on “Day 98: Sun in a Cloudy Day”

  1. I can relate with you. I am too still feel ‘uncomfortable’ in shooting the street in Indonesia…

    I have only took several shots in Jakarta. I’ve been working on my fear mostly in my hometown (Bandung)… and it’s getting better. One thing for sure, big camera isn’t my preference at the moment.

    Good luck.

Share Your Thoughts

