Day 105: Four Days to Independence


The coming 9th of August will mark the 47th anniversary of Singapore’s independence. This country has been my base for the past 13 years. Telling this to people whom I’ve just met usually leads to the question, “Would you ever consider becoming a Singapore citizen?”

Well, I have to admit that such opportunity would be hard to resist. Judging by how famous actor Jet Li and actress Gong Li had taken up Singapore citizenship, I’m not the only one with this opinion. It can be difficult travelling around with my Indonesian passport, especially after the emergence of terrorism in Indonesia. It is sad how the acts of a small minority have tarnished the country’s reputation.

Anyway, a country’s reputation is something that my Singapore friends shouldn’t worry about. In fact, it’s something that they should be very proud of. As for me, while there’s the saying ‘never say never’, I am happy being an Indonesian.

Published by

Olivia Griselda

A photographer & filmmaker based in Singapore.

Share Your Thoughts

