Singapore - City Hall

Day 125: Escape

I quit my job last month, and for a while, it felt really nice to have a break. But, as some people would say, you can never have too much of a good thing. I have reached the stage where my weekdays just roll into weekends. Not a good sign.

When I was at my job, I kept thinking that once I had quit, I’d have more time for writing screenplays. Now that I’ve quit, my time usage has rather been sub-optimal. Yes, I am keeping myself busy as I apply for jobs. Yes, I’ve been taking free online courses on Coursera (highly recommended!), finishing my comedy web series (please ‘LIKE’ Facebook page for updates!), and learning how to edit videos on Adobe Premiere Pro. Yet, I still haven’t written much in the past month.

This makes me realise of the danger of looking at life with a short-term perspective. It’s like how Fridays are the only things people look forward to in their lives. At this rate, I’ll never get any writings done.

I am going to create a proper schedule, so that I could properly set time for writing, learning and getting creative. When 2013 is over, I do not want to regret not organizing my time better for the things I love.

Meanwhile, I’ve promised my Mom that I’ll get a job by the time she visits me again in Singapore. One month.


Asian Civilisation Museum, Singapore.

4 thoughts on “Day 125: Escape

Share Your Thoughts

